RSS

Stapps who fought for the Republic of Texas 1835-1845

15 Mar

From this resource, four of Elijah’s sons were on the military rolls as fighting for the Republic of Texas.

Here’s a reminder about Elijah & Nancy’s offsprings’ birth dates and birth order.

Shown as listed on the resource with commander’s names as links to a description of their service (probably not the best word choice… I am very weak with military terminology.):

Stapp, D.M.                  Ward, Lafayette
Stapp, Darwin M.             Sample, David
Stapp, O.H.                  Mitchell, Isaac N.
Stapp, Oliver H.             Ward, Lafayette
Stapp, W.P.                  Mitchell, Isaac N.
Stapp, W.W.                  Mitchell, Isaac N.
Stapp, Walter                Ward, Lafayette
Stapp, William P.            Stevenson, Alexander
Stapp, William Preston       Reese, Charles K.
Stapp, Wm. P.                Reese, Charles K.
Stapp, Wm. P.                Fisher, William S. (Col)

How different would our world be without these men and their companions’ willingness to fight for the cause of independence?

I was wondering about my ancestor, Elijah’s son Achilles Stapp, why he might not have been on the rolls, since his brothers were clearly so devoted to the cause. I looked back at his birth date (thanks Marcie!), and doing the math I realized that he would have been very young in the early years of the struggle. He was born in 1822, so he would have been 14 when his father was in Washington on the Brazos signing the Texas Declaration of Independence and during the Runaway Scrape wherein families fled the region with the approach of Santa Ana and his army.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 15, 2011 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Stapps who fought for the Republic of Texas 1835-1845

  1. Pam Curry Jones

    February 4, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    Samuel Preston Glass of Gatesville, TX was my grandfather. My mother was Freda Glass Curry. I am always excited to discover more about my family history. I am especially intrigued with William Preston Stapp and his Perote Prision experience. I am trying to figure out how many “greats” to put before grandfather! I am pretty certain he was my grandfather’s grandfather! Maybe someone can help me figure that out!

     
    • Anonymous

      December 20, 2012 at 12:58 pm

      I’m just now looking at all of this for the first time, and I am amazed. I am the great granddaughter of Frederick Glass, who I believe was the son of Cara Stapp, daughter of William Preston Stapp, son of Elijah Stapp? I think that is how it went. I’m still trying to piece it together.
      So interesting to see all the posts from people that I am distantly related to.

       
  2. 6thgeneration

    December 20, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    Hi there, Anon. I’m glad you stumbled in and are finding something of interest in the posts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
